What’s on my shelf?

Once in awhile, we’ll be sharing what we are currently reading and make a few recommendations for you!   Be sure to share your recommendations, or contact us to write a guest post!

This week it’s Mrs. Foote’s bookshelf.   I read a mishmash of styles and this month is no different!

The Treasure Map of Boys CoverI recently finished The Treasure Map of Boys by E. Lockhart.  I have to say I liked her previous book, The Boyfriend List, a little better.   But Treasure Map of Boys delivers up bake sales, a high schooler trying to figure out her confusing love life, and a girl trying to figure out how to focus on her own life.   E. Lockhart’s style is very readable and humorous at times.  I’d recommend starting with the Boyfriend List first, though!

paolo cropped

Paolo Bacigalupi

Also on my bookshelf is The Doubt Factory by Paolo Bacigalupi.  I got to meet him this summer at an author coffee, and he was so passionate about his book that it made me pick it up, even though I might not normally have chosen it.   Mix in the dark mood of last week’s The Good Wife, and add in social consciousness, and you have a suspenseful read.   Bacigalupi got interested in the ethics and mentality of those who work to protect substances that are not safe or healthy by delaying lawsuits or dismissing evidence.  The main character, Alix is kidnapped by a group of teenage activists and begins to realize her world isn’t what she thought it was.   Suspenseful and thought-provoking–it has kept me up late reading!  We have the book on order, but I have an advanced review copy if you want to read it!

The other book I just finished was the Power of Habit–a nonfic book about how to change habits.   The best tip I got from the book was a story about how Starbucks trains their employees by having them go through scenarios (like a rude customer) and planning AHEAD how they will act.  That way, when they face the situation, they are mentally prepared and can remain professional.   Great tip for anyone–when you are faced with a job when you work with a variety of people or any unpredictable scenario, practice writing down a few scenarios and how you might respond.   Plan ahead some possible disasters, practice your potential response, and then you’ll feel more prepared for what comes your way.

That’s what’s on my shelf!  Please share with us what you are reading!